About the Program


The focus of the Civil Engineering Graduate Program (PPGEC) at the Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina (UFSC) is to develop qualified human resources, mainly to work in the academic field but also to join the technical staff of companies and government bodies. A parallel aim is to generate new knowledge through research and to advance technical and scientific studies related to the various fields of Civil Engineering.

This is one of the most highly regarded courses nationwide, having received grade 5 (out of 7) in the latest (2017) evaluation carried out by CAPES.



History of the Program

The Graduate Program in Civil Engineering at UFSC (PPGEC) was created in 1991 at the master’s degree level.  It was initially organized into two areas of concentration: Multipurpose Technical Registration and Civil Construction.

Two new concentration areas were later created: Structures, in 1995, and Infrastructure and Road Management, in 1997, totaling four areas of concentration. This resulted in a significant development of the program in terms of the number of students and faculty members, along with the creation of new lines of research and projects and the subsequent increase in the number of scientific publications and master’s theses.

A doctoral degree program in the area of Civil Construction was created in 1999. It included the areas of Multipurpose Technical Registration and Land Management in 2000, Structures in 2003, and Infrastructure and Road Management in 2004.

The PPGEC maintained grade 5 (out of 7) in the evaluations carried out by CAPES in 2004, 2007 and 2010. In 2012, it achieved grade 6.

Since 2015, the Program has been organized into the following concentration areas and lines of research:


  • Civil Construction:
  • Environmental Comfort and Energy;
  • Construction Materials and Processes.


  • Structures:
  • Numerical Analysis of Structures;
  • Experimental Analysis and Mechanical Behavior of Structural Elements and Systems.


  • Infrastructure and Geotechnics
  • Geotechnics;
  • Paving.


In 2017, the program’s faculty is comprised of twenty-six permanent members grouped into the three concentration areas as follows:


  • Civil Construction: Antônio Edésio Jungles, Deivis Marinoski, Enedir Ghisi (PQ1C), Fernanda Fernandes Marchiori, Fernando O. Ruttikay Pereira (PQ1D), Fernando Pelisser (PQ2), Janaíde C. Rocha (PQ1C), Luís Roberto Prudêncio Jr., Malik Sheiraf (professor visitante) (PQ1D), Philippe J.P. Gleize (PQ1B), Ricardo Rüther (PQ1C), Roberto Lamberts (PQ1A), Saulo Guths and Wellington L. Repette (PQ1D), totaling fourteen permanent members.

  • Structures: Daniel D. Loriggio, Marcos Lenzi, Leandro F. F. Miguel (PQ2), Rafael H. Lopez (PQ2), Poliana D. de Moraes, Roberto A. C. Pinto, Otávio A. A. da Silveira and Wellison J. de Santana Gomes, totaling eight permanent members.

  • Infrastructure and Geotechnics: Glicério Trichês (PQ1D), Gracieli João Victor Staub de Melo and Liseane P. Thives, totaling four permanent members.


As can be noted, of the twenty-six permanent faculty members, twelve are PQ/CNPq researchers (research productivity fellows), representing a total of 46,2%.